Back to List
Asian Economic Policy Review (Vol. 8 Issue 1)

ASEAN’s New Frontier

2013-06/18, Published

*The articles in this journal can be purchased at Wiley Online Library.

About AEPR
Japan Center for Economic Research (JCER) launched an English journal entitled Asian Economic Policy Review (AEPR) in June 2006. The journal is published twice a year through John Wiley & Sons. Visit the journal website (Wiley Online Library) for more information.

>>Learn more about AEPR

Summary of this issue

 Explored whether ASEAN can achieve its ambitions of economic integration in 2015 while a “Development Divide” is found between founding members of ASEAN and new members, that is, new frontier countries such as Cambodia, Lao, Myanmar and Vietnam. Economic situations of each frontier country as well as regional cooperation in the Mekong region are also discussed.

Articles in this issue

*You can get access to the abstract and full text of the article at Wiley Online Library by clicking on its title link.

Editors’ Overview
 Takatoshi ITO (University of Tokyo)
 Kazumasa IWATA (Japan Center for Economic Research)
 Colin MCKENZIE (Keio University)
 Shujiro URATA (Waseda University)

ASEAN’s New Frontiers: Integrating the Newest Members into the ASEAN Economic Community
 Richard POMFRET (University of Adelaide)

Cambodia: Rapid Growth with Weak Institutions
 Hal HILL (Australian National University)
 Jayant MENON (Asian Development Bank)

The Lao Economy: Capitalizing on Natural Resource Exports
 Jayant MENON (Asian Development Bank)
 Peter WARRA (Australian National University)

Toward Myanmar’s New Stage of Development: Transition from Military Rule to the Market
 Fumiharu MIENO (Kyoto University)

Industry‐specific Real Vietnamese Economy at the Crossroads: New Doi Moi for Sustained Growth
 Van Tho TRAN (Waseda University)

Regional Cooperation and Integration in the Mekong Region
 Jean-Pierre A. VERBIEST (Mekong Institute)

Takatoshi Ito: Professor, University of Tokyo
Kazumasa Iwata: President, Japan Center for Economic Research
Shujiro Urata: Professor, Waseda University

Managing Editor
Colin McKenzie: Professor, Keio University and Sciences Po

Associate Editors
Mohamed Ariff (Malaysia): Distinguished Fellow, Malaysian Institute of Economic Research, and Professor, International Center for Education in Islamic Finance
Muhammad Chatib Basri (Indonesia): Chairman, Indonesia Investment Coordinating Board
Chia Siow Yue (Singapore): Senior Research Fellow, Singapore Institute of International Affairs
Hal Hill (Australia): Professor, Australian National University
Akira Kojima (Japan): Advisor, Japan Center for Economic Research
Jong-Wha Lee (Korea): Professor, Korea University
Marcus Noland (USA): Deputy Director and Senior Fellow, Peterson Institute for International Economics
Takashi Shiraishi (Japan): President, National Graduate Institute of Policy Studies and President, Institute of Developping Economies, Japan External Trade Organization (IDE-JETRO)
Chalongphob Sussangkarn (Thailand): Distinguished Fellow, Thailand Development Research Institute
Akihiko Tanaka (Japan): President, Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
Yongding Yu (China): Senior Fellow, Institute of World Economics and Politics, and Academician, Chinese Academy of Social Studies